In the weeks since I found out I am fruit intolerant, I’ve had a lot of explaining to do, and it’s been tough. I don’t know about you, but when I say I can’t eat fruit and say that includes avocados and cashews and nutmeg people look at me funny, like I don’t know what constitutes fruit. Yes, I know tomato is technically a fruit, but yes, I can eat it (though not all Fruities can). No, I’m not allergic to nuts, but it’s on the list. On and on and on.
I think I’ve got it figured out. Here’s what I’ve been telling people:
If it grows on a tree (including bark), a bush, or a vine, I can’t have it. If it’s made from or with anything that grows on a tree (including bark), a bush, or a vine, I can’t have it.
And then I can talk about what that includes, like different vinegars, cashews (which, technically are a fruit, I think), nutmeg, etc., and how no, I can’t replace vinegar with orange or lemon juice in my salad dressing. Is it completely accurate? Maybe not, but it’s a heck of a lot easier for explaining things. A round of yeah, but what about (insert fruit here) is totally trumped by the tree/bush/vine thing every time.